Goin it alone 

Christopher Allbritton, a former AP and New York Daily News reporter, now an independent journalist goes to Iraq to report. Well, he’s not there yet but is working on getting there. Today he writes: “OK. See if you can follow me here: The United States is concerned that Saddam Hussein could launch a first strike against the troops in the region - or Israel - once Bush signals that war is imminent, so the United States may have to strike first. But officials are concerned that if America strikes first, it will appear the United States has started a war.” Read more…

03/14/2003 
Waging Peace 

“Dr. Robert Muller, former assistant secretary general of the United Nations, now Chancellor emeritus of the University of Peace in Costa Rica was one of the people who witnessed the founding of the U.N. and has worked in support of or inside the U.N. ever since. Recently he was in San Francisco to be honored for his service to the world through the U.N. and through his writings and teachings for peace. At age eighty, Dr. Muller surprised, even stunned, many in the audience that day with his most positive assessment of where the world stands now regarding war and peace…”

“Never before in the history of the world has there been a global, visible, public, viable, open dialogue and conversation about the very legitimacy of war”…

“The whole world is in now having this critical and historic dialogue–listening to all kinds of points of view and positions about going to war or not going to war. In a huge global public conversation the world is asking-“Is war legitimate? Is it illegitimate? Is there enough evidence to warrant an attack? Is there not enough evidence to warrant an attack? What will be the consequences? The costs? What will happen after a war? How will this set off other conflicts? What might be peaceful alternatives? What kind of negotiations are we not thinking of? What are the real intentions for declaring war?”

Read more…

03/14/2003 
comments please… 

Yeah! Took me awhile because my porch light is not the brightest on the block if you know what I mean, but I finally hunkered down and got comments set up! Now any of my 16 readers can add comments to any story. That’s right folks, come one, come all and add some damn comments so I don’t feel like I’ve wasted my time. Affirm me. Acknowledge my existence or I’ll go hide in a pillowcase and I won’t come out.