Inside and Outside 

Okay. It’s exactly 66 degrees today in Memphis. Not even close to what could be described as hot. Oh, and there’s a nice mild breeze. Why, oh why, help me understand why the neigbors would turn on their air conditioner? Okay, I guess it’s possible that it was just the fan that kicked on but the the big a/c device did go on. I don’t understand. 

It’s strange to me how people insist on keeping their houses all closed up… even during the mild weather of spring and fall. It seems unhealthy too. Seems like opening the windows and letting in fresh air is a good thing. I think “Americans” especially are prone to isolating themselves from the outside environment. It’s as though everything has to be carefully controlled.

It’s interesting to note that when I pass through “wealthier” neighborhoods I never see people outside. Not on porches, not in yards, not playing on the street. It’s rare. However, this is not the case in neighborhoods that would be described as poor. I see people outside everywhere. The change is remarkable and easily observable. I’d guess that to some degree this is related to access to things like airconditioning. In the summer time it’s probably cooler to be outside if your house is not airconditioned. This doesn’t really explain why “poor” folks are outside more often in the spring and fall as well.

Maybe this is a stretch, but I’d say that it’s possible that there are cultural differences going on here. Middleclass folk are watching tv, playing on the internet and, er, hiding out. I think perhaps certain kinds of fear and alienation are at play here that is less a part of the culture of poor folk.

I’m sure there are many other variables at work here. Any thoughts?

03/16/2003 
Overheard at the White House… 

Everyone probably knows by now that our wise Congress folks have changed the name of certain food dishes being served in certain D.C. government buildings. What most people don’t know is that when Georgy found out they were calling these items freedom fries and freedom toast he got upset and asked Dick why they weren’t being renamed bush fries and bush toast. Dick responded with something like “Grow up” to which it is rumored that George responded “I’m rubber you’re glue whatever you say bounces off of me and sticks to you.”

It’s a strange world when “adults” who are elected into office behave this world. What a joke these folks are. I’d love to here the what get’s said up in the halls of congress.