A sunset at the beach

How sweet life can be… at least for some. This is the second morning I’ve woken up to the sounds of the ocean outside my window. While I am thoroughly enjoying vacation with my family I always have this voice in my mind the whispers to me about Iraq and various other nightmares that are real and which “my” country has created.

As I wrote the above something that my brother said to me last night came back. He seems to think that my writing here is too negative. I suppose that on a certain level that he’s right. I just did a quick read through and much of it is “negative”.

It’s not easy for me to be a happy person when there’s so much wrong in our world and my perception of the origin of many problems is the government of my native country. The joy that I experience is usually tainted by my awareness of the context of my life.