Imagine Homer Simpson saying… “Oooohhhh, fishes”. That’s right folks, it’s aquarium update time. I’m not sure any of you have ever checked the geek on webcam link in my side bar but if you have you’ve seen the aquarium in the corner of my room. I just recently relocated that aquarium from another room and have built a new, super powered hood with 75 watts of compact fluorecent goodness streaming down. That means I can now add flourite gravel and new plants! The last time I added plants they didn’t do so well because I didn’t have the flourite and I didn’t have enough light. The aquarium is 29 gallons and the previous light set-up only had 55 watts which falls short of the recommended 2-3 watts per gallon rule for a planted tank. With 75 watts I’m now at 2.5 watts of light so the plants should flourish. I’ll be picking up the gravel in the next couple of days and will get some plants at the same place or order them via the internet. I’ll post a photo or two after I’ve made some progress, probably this weekend.

For those dying to know here’s a current estimate of what’s in the tank. Plants: Java moss, Brazillian Pennywort, and two unknowns. I think the unknowns might be Pygmy Chain Sword or something similar. Fish: 3 Gourami, Bala Shark, Red-Tailed Shark, 2 Tetra, Leopard Cory, and a Common Pleco. The pleco is getting very big, probably 2-3 times bigger than when I got it.