Christopher over at Back to Iraq has recently returned to Iraq and writes about the Bumps in the Road:

Since returning, it feels like I’m listening to the same record I’ve been listening to for a year, only with the volume turned up. Donald Rumsfeld, the American Secretary of Defense, says U.S. is winning the war and that the media are focusing too much on bad news.

“We have to recognize that it’s a tough, tough, tough world, and there are going to be bumps in the road between now and then." - Donald Rumsfeld


I can’t even begin to tell you how many Iraqis have been killed in the weeks I was away. And how many more Iraqis, journalists or otherwise, will die because the Americans can’t tell who’s friend or foe? Those aren’t “bumps in the road.” Those are signs that you went off the road without a map a long time ago.

Where do you even begin combatting the head-in-the-sandism, brazen propaganda and revisionism of the above release. (By the way, it’s about the fourth or fifth one I’ve received in the last few days touting the same theme, apparently in concert with President Bush’s push to let Americans know that everything is going hunky-dory.)

News flash: Iraq is a disaster. I’ve been back one day, and the airport road was the worst I’ve ever seen it.
The administration is a broken record. Their only Iraq plan is to endlessly repeat their message of the moment in the hopes that they can convince the world.

I think I’ll try that method and see how it goes…

There’s a unicorn in my garden, there’s a unicorn in my garden, a unicorn in my garden, a unicorn in my garden…

Technorati Tags: , , , ,