🚲📷 More bike love! This is a follow-up to my post yesterday where I shared my beloved gravel bike. Today it’s my equally loved fat bike. Years ago I used a mountain bike for trail riding, this time around I opted for an over-sized fat tire bike. The tires for fat bikes range from 3.5" to 5", mine has 4" tires. As I understand it fat bikes were created for year round riding allowing for winter riding on snow and also easier access to softer surfaces like sand.

While many of the newest more expensive fat bikes include front or even full suspension I opted for a ridged frame and fork because I tend to ride slower and on trails that are not overly rough. I also use it for gravel rides when we’ve had rain and the gravel road base is softened up as will be the case for todays ride. While a fat bike tends to be a bit heavier than a standard mountain bike that has much lighter 2" tires they do offer a soft, plush ride, the tires more easily going over fallen branches, larger rocks or other obstacles. They’re a blast to ride!

Have a bike you love? Share it!

A black bike with oversized tires leans against a tree in a woodland A black bike with oversized tires leans against a tree, surrounded by tall grass and trees A black bike with oversized tires leans against a fencepost, an old barn in the background A black bike with oversized tires leans against a tree and fence, a foggy landscape is in the background