Over the past few years I've been making an effort to eliminate foods and products that come in plastic containers. This not only reduces waste of plastic but it also saves energy and reduces carbon in that often the replacement is more condensed. As is always the case, these might seem like small changes but magnify them by millions of people making similar changes and the savings of energy/carbon would be significant.

Some examples:

  • Popcorn: A favorite snack, a simple bag of plain, unpopped kernels is tiny by comparison to the same number of bags of popped corn. I pop it in the microwave but it tastes better in a pot over the stove with a bit of oil and spices mixed in.
  • Bread and other baked goods: A 10lb paper bag of flour will produce quite a lot of bread, pancakes, waffles, muffins etc by comparison to those finished baked goods that come in plastic bags or other larger packaging. My recent favorite is waffles. I eat so many waffles, lately a kind of cornbread waffle. Just mix of regular flour with corn flour. Not just for breakfast but I'll use them as a kind of one-sided sandwich. An egg and cheese melted on top of a waffle or refried beans, cheese and salsa.
  • Pancake/waffle syrup: Now, some might scoff at this and I'll admit that my solution is pretty simple. I didn't grow up with real maple syrup but rather the much cheaper corn-syrup or sugar based syrups that come in plastic or glass containers. My solution is easy and simple. I just make small batches of sugar water with cinnamon. Now, the proper way to do this is to cook the water down so that one has an actual syrup. I don't even do that. I just mix 3/4 cup of water to 1/4 cup of sugar with lots of cinnamon and mix it into a mug or jar. It may not be as good as syrup but it works for me. If it's blackberry season I'll blend in a cup of blackberries.

The next time you're in a big box store take note of the shelves and shelves of products shipped in hard plastic containers. Now, imagine all of that replaced by paper ar paperboard packaging that can be composted, reused or recycled. That should be the goal.